JLT

by

I got my first real taste of monogramming from my time spent down South.  At first I simply started noticing monogrammed sheets, towels, and purses. It wasn’t until I saw a monogrammed bar of soap that I thought, “are you kidding me!?”  After a few wonderful years surround by these types of incidences and my best southern girlfriends, I started to catch on to the craze.

I am now located back in Boston where I find myself encircled by monograms– a monogrammed dog bed, monogrammed wine glasses, even a monogrammed cheese platter. What’s happened to me? If I’m going to be honest, these are some of my favorite items to use.

As a society, we love branding.  We see it in all forms including monograms, products, and logos. A 2012 Forbes article explains, “why leave your professional reputation to chance, when you can be your own PR guru and manage your image? Your personal brand is all about who you are and what you want to be known for.”

Branding is a quick way of immediate expression. Those three bold cursive letters embedded in a monogram evoke true personalization. Branding provides a sense of accomplishment, a sense of purpose and identity, and most importantly serves as a standard that people, companies, even pets must adhere to.

It is essential to give credit where credit is due. Be proud of your brand. What I’m trying to say is sometimes it’s okay to pat yourself on the back and monogram the heck out of things, bar of soap included. 

One Response to “JLT”

  1. Carolyn W Says:

    In true New England form, my favorite piece of luggage is a monogrammed LL Bean bag!

Leave a Reply

